General

What type of insurance does Blue Cross offer?

First and foremost Blue Cross sells health insurance.
A health insurance policy reimburses you for costs associated with an illness or accident:
• that are not covered by the RAMQ, including health professionals other than doctors, and
• some costs covered by the RAMQ, but that may be obtained in a private clinic, such as diagnostic tests.

Blue Cross also sells health insurance to cover medical expenses outside of Québec.
This type of insurance is better known as travel insurance; it primarily protects your health but also includes indemnities for:
• the cost of repatriation to Canada
• reimbursing the amounts paid and not reimbursed by travel wholesalers or airline companies
• accidental death or dismemberment, and much more.

Blue Cross health and travel insurance plans are coupled with assistance services. Health assistance offers you health and legal advice, homecare assistance and exclusive benefits, while travel assistance takes care of you if something happens to you while travelling.

Who can be insured through Blue Cross?

Any Canadian resident can subscribe to Blue Cross health insurance. You must have a valid health insurance card for your province of residence. Blue Cross exists across Canada however each company is independently operated. Québec residents must have a valid RAMQ card to purchase insurance from Québec Blue Cross; an Ontario resident must have a valid OHIP card to purchase insurance from Ontario Blue Cross, etc.

Health insurance is also available to Visitors to Canada or people who need to obtain their provincial health insurance card, including Canadian citizens returning to Canada after a long absence, individuals awaiting immigration status and individuals coming to study or work in Canada on a temporary basis. People who need this protection should obtain it from Blue Cross in the province in which they reside.

Can I purchase an assistance service contract?

No. Assistance services are an added benefit of your insurance policy. If you do not have a Blue Cross insurance policy and are injured or become seriously ill while outside of Canada you may still turn to Blue Cross travel assistance services. We will immediately help you and repatriate you to Canada. However any fees incurred will be your responsibility. To give you an idea, the cost of repatriation for health reasons from Paris to Montréal is between $25 000 and $45 000, depending on the type of transportation.

Can I replace my RAMQ drug insurance with Blue Cross drug insurance?

No. The law requires that anyone who does not have group insurance registers with the government drug insurance plan. This is an obligation in the same way you must subscribe to the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec. Provincial drug insurance has a deductible and coinsurance, the part that you must pay. These charges may be reimbursed if you have Blue Cross health insurance.

Général

Quel type d'assurance vend Croix Bleue ?

Croix Bleue vend avant tout de l’assurance santé.
Une police d’assurance santé vous rembourse les frais reliés à une maladie ou un accident
• qui ne sont pas couverts par la RAMQ, comme les professionnels de la santé autres que médecins, et
• certains frais couverts par la RAMQ, mais que vous pouvez obtenir en clinique privée, comme les tests diagnostiques.

Croix Bleue vend également de l’assurance santé pour couvrir les frais médicaux à l’extérieur du Québec. Cette assurance est mieux connue sous le nom d’assurance voyage; elle protège d’abord votre santé mais elle comprend également des indemnités pour :
• les frais de rapatriement au pays
• le remboursement des sommes payées et non remboursables par les grossistes en voyage ou les compagnies aériennes
• le décès ou la mutilation accidentels, etc.

Les polices d’assurance santé et voyage de Croix Bleue sont assorties de services d’assistance; l’assistance santé vous offre conseils santé, juridiques, assistance à domicile, et privilèges exclusifs tandis que l’assistance voyage vous prend en charge si quelque chose vous arrive en voyage.

Qui peut être assuré avec Croix Bleue ?

Tout résident canadien peut souscrire à une assurance santé Croix Bleue. Il faut avoir une carte valide du régime d’assurance santé de sa province de résidence. Croix Bleue est partout présente au Canada, mais toutes les sociétés sont indépendantes. Ainsi, un résident du Québec doit avoir une carte de la RAMQ valide pour acheter une assurance auprès de Croix Bleue du Québec; un résident de l’Ontario doit avoir une carte de OHIP valide pour acheter une assurance auprès de Croix Bleue de l’Ontario, etc.

L’assurance santé est également offerte pour les personnes qui doivent obtenir leur carte d’assurance santé provinciale comme les citoyens canadiens qui reviennent au pays après une longue absence, les personnes en attente du statut d’immigrant et les personnes qui viennent étudier ou travailler au Canada pour une période temporaire. Les personnes qui ont besoin de cette protection doivent se la procurer auprès de Croix Bleue dans la province où ils résideront.

Puis-je acheter un contrat de services d'assistance ?

Non. Les services d’assistance sont toujours liés à une police d’assurance. Toutefois, si vous êtes en accidenté ou gravement malade à l’étranger, vous pouvez avoir recours aux services d’assistance voyage de Croix Bleue. Nous vous viendrons aussitôt en aide et vous rapatrierons au pays. Toutefois, tous les frais encourus seront à votre charge. Pour vous donner une idée du coût d’un rapatriement sanitaire entre Paris et Montréal : entre 25 000$ et 45 000$ selon le mode de rapatriement.

Puis-je remplacer l'assurance médicament de la RAMQ par une assurance médicament Croix Bleue ?

Non. La loi prévoit que toute personne qui n’a pas d’assurance collective soit inscrite à l’assurance médicaments gouvernementale. C’est obligatoire au même titre que votre inscription à la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec. L’assurance médicaments provinciale comprend une franchise et une co-assurance, soit la part que vous devez payer. Ces frais peuvent vous être remboursés si vous avez une assurance santé Croix Bleue.